NYC Bound

nyc
I’m heading to New York in May. This is so exciting for me. I’ve had a desire to go for the past three years and now it’s finally happening. I’m going with my two friends for five days.

I have an endless list of what I want to see and do there. Mostly touristy things, like see the Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty, Times Square, Central Park, FAO Schwarz, Staten Island, 5th Avenue, and an off-Broadway play. But the main thing that I would like to see – what has drawn me in from the very beginning – is the World Trade Centre/911 Memorial. As heartbreaking and morbid as the event was, it fascinates me to no end. I’ve realized that I am obsessed with learning about historical tragedies that have happened around the world. The Holocaust, the atomic bombings of Hiroshima and Nagasaki, etc – I have studied and scrutinized them all, whether it be through documentaries, fictionalized movies, non-fiction or fictional literature.

In particular, I took a course in University focused solely on terrorism and 9/11. Though the material was thoroughly depressing and grueling (obviously), it ended up being my favourite course of my Undergraduate Degree. Learning about it stirred up so many different emotions within me: hatred, love, confusion, compassion, hopelessness, fear. I basked in it, soaked up all the knowledge I could, and still I am left wanting more.

Does that make me sound sick? I hope not. I don’t particularly thrive on death. Hopefully you’ll see me as having a somewhat unhealthy obsession and unconfined thirst for knowledge in a wide range of topics.

When we board the plane to our destination, I know the trip will come with its ups and downs (no pun intended), but I am ready to embrace and experience it all.

Do you have a story about living/staying in New York that you would like to share? Have any suggestions of places to see/things that I should do to add to my list? Please feel free to comment below. I would love to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

